Skip to content

The Next Time Around

April 14, 2010

I went back home to Syracuse this past weekend and someone asked me, “so how is your second book coming along?”  I had to stop and share that with being in grad school, the book is on hold at the moment.  However, once I went to bed that night I couldn’t stop thinking about possible ways to begin Chapter One.

Maybe the main character, Angela Rae, will receive a nice text message from someone special.  Or perhaps she’ll tweet some new finding.  Whichever lead I create, I know that social media will be infused into the story line.

Not only will it be part of the story, social media needs to be fully utilized to promote the book.  With my debut, “If Your Heart Isn’t In It,” the use of social media was limited to email and the Website.  Being a one woman show, I handled my own marketing and publicity, being sure to send press releases to editors, along with promo copies of the book.  Although it did land me a blog post on Syracuse.com, I know that the more I use social media the greater the potential for future exposure.

I must say that I’m looking forward to the day when I can sit still long enough to pen that sequel. Twitter, Facebook, Foursquare, YouTube and blogs are just some of the mediums I’ll be fully engaged in.  Then I can apply what I now know, the next time around…

How about you? Taking into account what you’ve learned over time, what is one project you have done that you would do differently?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

