Skip to content

Embarking On A New Journey

February 17, 2010

When I was a kid I was the little girl that would rave “my daddy this” and “my daddy that.” Oh how beautiful for a young black girl to have her father prominently in her life; to be able to boast in such a way.  Fast forward many years later to the present and I can still say “my daddy.”

This past week, Sam Roberts, Syracuse native and MY dad, registered his formal campaign fundraising committee for the 119th New York State Assembly District seat.  If he leads a victorious campaign, he will be the first African-American Assemblyperson to represent Central New York.  The district includes DeWitt, Onondaga, Salina, and Syracuse’s east and south sides.

Since I can remember, he has always found a way to be of public service.  While working as a Journeyman Tool and Die Maker with General Motors Corporation, he was that hard-working man who came home from third shift, changed out of his blues, and went out to see how he could help someone else.  Over the years, that desire for lending a hand cultivated into much more.  He not only served as an Onondaga County Legislator for ten years, but he also worked diligently, volunteering his time for other elected officials.  From the Democratic campaigns of Honorable Rosemary Pooler (former Congressional candidate), Senator Nancy Lorraine Hoffman, and Assemblywoman Joan Christensen, to those of President Bill Clinton and former Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton, he stayed committed to his philosophy of being of good service.

Never losing sight of his dream to help institute laws at a higher level for the betterment of his constituencies and community, I proudly introduce to you the Committee to Elect Sam Roberts.  Now that the campaign is official, you will soon see the implementation of a well thought out communication plan, his Facebook fan page will keep you informed, and with your assistance Sam Roberts will be the next Assemblyman for the 119th New York State Assembly District.

For more coverage, you can view an article written by John Mariani of The Post-Standard,  “Former County Legislator Sam Roberts to seek Joan Christensen’s Assembly seat.”

Also, please feel free to contact me if you want to be a volunteer  for the Committee to Elect Sam Roberts or if you would like to be included on communications about the campaign and events.  If you can’t already tell, I’m saying it loud…that’s my daddy, he’s embarking on a new journey, and I’m proud.

(photo: Sam Roberts and daughter in Morningside Park by D. Bey)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 3:47 pm

    Congrats to you and your dad! Are you in charge of his social media campaign? If so, I’m sure you have a great plan!

    Is this a fairly grassroots campaign? Will you have access and funding for things like video (for lots of exciting YouTube clips!) and online fundraising tools? The internet has really changed the face of fundraising and campaigning in my opinion, but given the vast amount of resources available, it seems a little overwhelming! I wish you and your family all the best!

    (PS- Whenever I go home to Geneva, NY, I try to make a pit stop for dinner at Dinosaur BBQ. I’m obsessed!)

    • February 18, 2010 11:12 pm

      Thank you. It’s an exciting time, so I’m definitely contributing my expertise to the campaign. And about Dinosaur BBQ, NYC has no idea!

  2. March 7, 2010 5:58 pm

    Congratulations to you all. I wish you all a most successful campaign, because I know that “the apple does not fall far from the tree”.

    Good Luck and Godspeed!

Leave a Reply

